Thursday, March 31, 2011

We Love You D - Semper Fidelis

The Marine Corps Prayer.
Almighty Father, whose command is over all and whose love never fails, make me aware of Thy presence and obedient to Thy will. Keep me true to my best self, guarding me against dishonesty in purpose and deed and helping me to live so that I can face my fellow Marines, my loved ones and Thee without shame or fear. Protect my family. Give me the will to do the work of a Marine and to accept my share of responsibilities with vigor and enthusiasm. Grant me the courage to be proficient in my daily performance. Keep me loyal and faithful to my superiors and to those committed to my leadership. Help me to wear my uniform with dignity, and let it remind me daily of the traditions which I must uphold. If I am inclined to doubt, steady my faith; if I am tempted, make me strong to resist; if I should miss the mark, give me courage to try again. Guide me with the light of truth and grant me the wisdom by which I may understand the answer to my prayer.

Marines have carried several different flags since the American Revolution, but today’s scarlet standard has been flown during Marine Corps missions and ceremonies since January 1939.
The Eagle, Globe and Anchor emblem is rendered in gray and gold over the scarlet background. The motto ribbon flows from the eagle’s beak, bearing “Semper Fidelis,” and the flowing scroll below bears “United States Marine Corps.”
Scarlet and gold were established as the official colors of the Corps as early as 1925, and the Eagle, Globe and Anchor emblem has appeared as part of Marine Corps iconography since 1868.
In addition to being flown at ceremonies and installations, the Marine Corps flag hangs in the offices of the President of the United States, the Secretary of Defense, the Secretary of the Navy, and the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

The Eagle, Globe and Anchor emblem has been part of the uniform since 1868 and became the official emblem on the Marine Corps in 1955.
The eagle with spread wings represents our proud nation. The glove points to worldwide presence. The anchor stands for naval tradition. Together, they represent a dedication to service in the air, on land and at sea.
The Eagle Globe and Anchor emblem is presented to recruits at the end of Recruit Training, symbolizing that they have earned the title “United States Marine.”

The swords Marines carry signify the Marine Corps’ heritage as America’s original protectors. They are the oldest weapons still in service by United States Armed Forces.
Officers carry the Mameluke sword, which was originally given to Lieutenant Presley O’Bannon in 1805 by a Mameluke chieftain in North Africa desert to rid the “shores of Tripoli” of pirates. By 1825, all Marine Corps Officers carried the Mameluke sword.
Staff Noncommissioned Officers (SNCO) and Noncommissioned Officers (NCO) carry the 1858 Cavalry sword. This sword was bestowed upon them by the Commandant of the Marine Corps in recognitions of their leadership in combat, their virtue and tradition. Only the Marine Corps awards such recognition to Noncommissioned Officers.

Every detail of the dress blues uniform reflects the proud legacy of Marines who have served for more than two centuries:
The buttons featuring the eagle and anchor have been on the uniform since 1804, making them the oldest military insignia in continues use.
The “blood stripe” runs down each pant leg of the dress blues worn by noncommissioned officers, staff noncommissioned officers and officers. The solid red stripe became part of the uniform in 1849. Today, it serves to honor the memory of fallen comrades.
The collar of today’s dress blues reflects the original Marine uniform of the American Revolution, which had a high leather neck to help protect Marines from sword blows.
Because it embodies Marine Corps history, rigorous standards apply to wearing this uniform and every Marine upholds those standards with pride.

Dream Catchers

While dream catchers originated in the Ojibwa Nation, during the Pan-Indian Movement of the 1960s and 1970s they were adopted by Native Americans of a number of different nations. Some consider the dream catcher a symbol of unity among the various Indian Nations, and a general symbol of identification with Native American cultures. However, other Native Americans have come to see dream catchers as over-commercialized. Non-Indians have also used the dream catcher for their own purposes, sometimes New Age in nature.
Traditionally, the Ojibwa construct dream catchers by tying sinew strands in a web around a small round or tear-shaped frame of willow (in a way roughly similar to their method for making snowshoe webbing). The resulting "dream-catcher", hung above the bed, is used as a charm to protect sleeping children from nightmares. As dream catchers are made of willow and sinew, they are not meant to last forever but are intended to dry out and collapse as the child enters the age of wonderment.
The Ojibwa believe that a dream catcher changes a person's dreams. Only good dreams would be allowed to filter through . . . Bad dreams would stay in the net, disappearing with the light of day. Good dreams would pass through and slide down the feathers to the sleeper.

7 Deadly Sins

Pride: excessive beliefs in one’s own abilities,
that interferes with the individual’s recognition
of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from
 which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.

  Envy: is the desire for others’ traits, status, abilities, or situation.

Gluttony: is an inordinate desire to consume
 more than that which one requires. 

 Lust: is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.



Anger: is manifested in the individual
who spurns love and opts instead for fury.
It is also known as Wrath.                                

 Greed: is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.

Sloth: is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.



Wednesday, March 30, 2011


Hermes was the god of:

  • Travel
  • Hospitality
  • Heralds
  • Diplomacy
  • Trade
  • Thievery
  • Language
  • Writing
  • Persuasion
  • Cunning Wiles
  • Athletic Contests
  • Astronomy
  • Astrology
He was also the personal agent & herald for Zeus.

Hermes Attributes are:
  • The Heralds Wand (Caduceus)
  • Winged Boots (Talaria)
  • Winged Traveller's Cap (Petasus)
  • Chlamy's Cloak

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Guardian Angels

              A Guardian Angel is an angel assigned to protect and guide a particular person or group. Belief in bothe the East and the West is that Guardian Angels serve to protect whichever person God assigns them to, and present prayer to God on that person's behalf/ The Belief was common in Acient Greek Philosophy. The idea also appears in the Old Testament.

                                                 Guardian Angel Prayer (Protection Prayer)
                                                        "Angel of God, My Guardian Dear
                                                      to whom God's love commits me here.
                                                             Ever this day be at my side
                                                      to light and guard and rule and guide.